Market!

Today I went to the Borough Market and it was AMAZING!

One of the entrances to the Borough Market

It was Saturday, so of course it was incredibly crowded but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment at all.

I spent a lot of time gawking at the plethora of food items available and most for incredibly good prices. The market is HUGE – there are currently 3 separate market areas open (there is at least one other usually but it’s currently closed because of some kind of construction) and there were stalls for just about everything: meat, herbs, fish, cheese, olives, oils, bread, spices etc…

All kinds of breads!

I love the colours in this sunflower.

HUGE wheels of cheese (Gouda)

Spices

The only thing I actually bought today was a container of REALLY delicious pesto, but once I’m more settled I’ll be going back to get a few items I know for sure I’ll want to have on hand. Nothing beats fresh like that!

After that, I headed to Kings Cross and went to check out the British Library which was AMAZING. Unfortunately you can’t take pictures inside the galleries, but they have an amazing collection. Their special exhibit right now is on maps and some of the maps they have displayed are truly beautiful. The treasures gallery was my favourite though. Such a rich collection of manuscripts. They have everything from illuminated texts to religious texts for almost every world religion to handwritten or early edition copies of literature from people like Shakespeare, and Jane Austin. They also had a whole section devoted just to Alice in Wonderland which was really, really neat, and there was also a display on music documents which included a score from one of Mozarts symphonies. Beside that was a display on the Beatles. Very, very cool stuff.

From the library, I went back to Kings Cross and located Platform 9 3/4 (from the Harry Potter books for those who don’t know). It’s really there – well, really what it is is a brick wall just perpendicular to platform 8, with part of a luggage cart sticking out and sign that says “Platform 9 3/4”. There was a long line up of people waiting to have the photo taken with it when I got there, but I waited and got my own:

Of course I took a TON of pictures. The photographer in me couldn’t resist taking some artsy shots and I really like how the pictures turned out. I think I may end up printing and framing some of these. You can view them all by clicking on the picture below:

Fancy Mushrooms and fresh herbs

Hope everyone is well!

8 responses to “Market!

  1. These are gorgeous shots. I’m very excited you’re doing this blog!

    • Thank you so much! I’m really pleased with how they turned out. My camera takes crappy night pictures but I’m glad the day pictures came out so well. I’m definitely going to frame a few of them (the hard part will be picking which ones… maybe it’s time to get one of those digital frame thingys).

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the blog! 🙂

  2. starlightmoonla

    These pictures are wonderful! I also want to add my thanks for this blog and sharing your adventures with us! 😀

    • Awww I’m so glad you’re enjoying it. I found a book of London walking tours today. I didn’t buy it because I want to try and find it second hand (it was £12) but if I do I’ll totally do a bunch of walking tours and post about them. (and take pictures)

  3. Lovely pics. How is the flat hunting/job searching coming?

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you like the pictures! (did you see the ones in the album too?) You’ve seen the other post now on the job hunt/flat hunt!

      I’m about to go check out the Covenant Garden Market before I head off to meet a friend! I hope you and Greg are well. Maybe we could try skyping sometime.

      Love,
      Hannah

  4. Like the “artsy” shots. And a digital frame can be great!.. Have fun

Leave a Reply

