Still here, still loving London

Hi all!

My sincere apologies for taking so long to update. The past few weeks have been rather busy.

A few weeks ago I bought this little box that has 30 walking tours of London. Each one is on it’s own little folded up card (about the size of a small greeting card) and it has written directions as well as a map and information about the places you’re seeing. So far I’ve done 2 of the tours so you’ll have those posts to look forward to in the near future (I still need to arrange all the pictures I’ve taken). I’m hoping to do at least 2 of these tours a month. A few of them cover places I’ve already seen though so I may not do them all.

Right now, I’m actually not in London. I’ve been in Germany since Wednesday visiting my best friend Ali and her children (for those of you who don’t know, Ali and I have been friends since we met in Canada when we were 14. She got married in 2003 to a German man and moved here, so we don’t get to see each other very often. Now that I’m in the UK though we’re both hoping to see more of each other). It’s so nice to see her again and to see how her home and family have evolved since my last visit to Mainz in 2007. Unfortunately my german is rather rusty and her children speak primarily Germany so it’s hard to understand them! Anna and Melanie are super excited to have me here though, which is nice. When they’re home and awake it’s rare for one of them to NOT be in my lap. Ali, is rather pregnant at the moment with their third child whom they’re expecting in late October/early November. Hopefully I’ll be able to manage another trip here sometime after the baby comes! I’m here until Tuesday, and then I’ll be heading back to London.

Before I came down to Germany, I finally moved into my new flat. I haven’t had a chance to take photos yet, but once I do I’ll post a little photo tour of my room and the flat. The actual move was a bit exhausting. I managed to fit everything into the two suitcases I’d brought with my from Canada (I’d bought a few things since my arrival so it was a bit tricky), plus I needed my own towels and bedding and I’d had to buy that before the move since I was moving in the evening once my new flatmate was home from work. Needless to say, taking the bus and tube with two overstuffed (and heavy) wheeled suitcases from one end of London to another was quite the ordeal and not very pleasant. Even though the trip usually wouldn’t take more than 45min, it took me close to 2 hours to make it because I was so slow walking with the bags. By the time I arrived, my arms were KILLING me!

Anyway, aside from that the move was good and I can’t tell you how nice it is to have my own space again. And a room, with a door! The room is a decent size and has more than enough drawer and cupboard space for my clothing and books and things. There’s a small computer desk that’s perfect for my laptop and even a tv with cable and a dvd player (although it only plays the UK region stuff). It’s got a big window too so I get lots of light. The kitchen, which is right outside my room is quite nice. It’s fairly modern and very functional. I have a shelf to myself in the tiny fridge. Fridges here are only half the size of the ones in North America – they’re a bit bigger than the mini fridges you find in colleges and stuff but they’re quite small in comparison to what I’m used to. I suspect I’ll be shopping for fresh stuff more often. Which isn’t really a problem considering there are two grocery stores at the high street that’s a 3 min walk from the flat and a HUGE open air market that has lots of produce about 10 min away by bus (near the sub station) where I can get a whole bowl of various fruits or vegetables for £1. It’s great.

Okay, back to the description of the flat. There’s a patio/garden that you can get to from one end of the kitchen which is nice. There’s one bathroom, which had a tub and though it’s a bit small it’s definitely functional. At the other end of the house from my room is the livingroom which has two couches and a table and chairs as well as a large screen tv! The flat is nice and bright since it’s on the second story above a music shop!

My flatmate is named Jenia and she’s close in age to me. (32) We get along well so far and I’m looking forward to getting to know her better.

Not much has happened on the job front. Schools have been closed for the past few weeks so no hiring has been happening. Once I get back from Germany though we’ll be 2 weeks from school starting again so hopefully things will begin to pick up. I’ll call the agency once I’m settled back in my flat in London.

So that’s the update. I’ve got about 250 pictures to sift through and upload so I can share them with everyone. I probably won’t have a chance before I get back to the UK but I’ll do it as quick as possible.

I hope everyone is well. I miss you.

Oh, and since today is August 21st, I’d like to send a special Congratulations to my friend Anne and her fiance John who are getting married back home today. I wish you both all the best and hope you have a fantastic day!

7 responses to “Still here, still loving London

  1. Yay! I’m the first to post! I win the gold medal. We were 13, not 14. Possibly even 12. I want to see pictures of your new place! Or better yet, see it live!I think you should stay in Germany for a very long time.

    • Whoops. It was earlier, wasn’t it. I know we weren’t 12 though. It was after your Dad died. You WILL see pictures, but I can’t really take them now, can I? Plus, you’ll get to see it in person pretty soon anyway. Ha! you just want me to stay so you don’t have to do dishes or fold your laundry 😛

  2. the fridge took a bit of getting used to, but other than lamenting our lack of a proper freezer it’s not much different from home in the end.

    we’re back now and I look forward to seeing you soon! We have no immediate plans to go to London but I’m sure we’ll be down in a couple of months anyway, and you’re always welcome to come up here for a visit . It’s only an hour away by train 🙂 Once you’re all settled in with a job/schedule and David’s term is under way let me know if you want to join us for one of our formal dinners and we’ll try to get an extra ticket!

    • Yeah, the freezer is tiny too. So far I don’t have a spot in there either so I’m just getting dry stuff. I think I might have one by the time I get back though.

      Yay! Welcome back to this side of the ocean. I’d love to see you. I’ll still have lots of free time until school starts in September so maybe I can come up for a day or so before then? Since it doesn’t take long to get there. Do you work mostly weekdays? I’d love to come at a time when both you and David aren’t super busy! I’ll email you my phone number too, and we can be in touch once I’m back in London next Tuesday.

      And yes! A formal dinner would be SO awesome! And sometime you should come down and we should all go to a musical or the opera together!

  3. You know if you survived the fridge/freezer situation at the ranch you should have no problem with this! Hi and congratulations to Ali. Also love your posts. Am looking forward to the pictures!

  4. Hi Hannah – school has started here. The province wide computerized student lists wasn’t working the first work – so teachers were disgruntled.
    How are you doing? I’m spending a bit of time in the garden trying to move a few plants around and top dress soil etc – The weather has been good for this – a little rain, a little sun – my back is sore. Oh well. We will be looking after the grandkids for 3 whole days towards the end of the month. We are looking forward to it. Clare has finally decided to walk. Once she started, she just took off, as if to say, I can do it if and when I want to. How goes the job search, exploration of London, settling into new apartment? Marjorie

  5. Time for an update, my dear!

Leave a Reply

